Secret Scoop [Part 1]

“So, you’ll have that first draft to me by 5 right?”

Ugh. My eyes threw daggers into my boss’ back as he trumped away from my desk. I can tell it’s going to be a long day, and it’s only 10 in the morning. I sighed and laid my head on the desk.

“What was that all about?”

Amy. It was such a relief having her here in the city with me, let alone in the next cubicle. Amy Bernell has been my friend since the 2nd grade. We’ve done everything together: grade school, college, moved to D.C., started working at the paper in the same week. I glanced up at her familiar porcelain face and felt a tiny wave of relief.

“The McConnell story,” I replied. “He’s itching to see my first draft…and expects it in the paper next week.”

“Wow,” Amy said. I could tell she was shocked, in a confused sort of way. “You’ll never finish it in time! Were you even able to get an interview with Mr. McConnell?”

A slow smile spread across my face. “Actually, yes I did. I’m meeting him for coffee in 30 minutes.”

Amy’s laugh reverberated around her cubicle. “Of course you did – you always get the scoop!” She raised one eyebrow at me and then winked. I knew what she was referring to, but I didn’t indulge her.

“That doesn’t mean he’s going to tell me everything,” I replied. “I just need to play my cards right.” I tried to sound serious, but one corner of my mouth lifted into an involuntary grin. I stood up from my chair and began to pack my things into a large and very bright purse. It was a gift from Amy.

“Don’t forget we’re going out tonight for your birthday!”

Of course. How could I forget? She’s only been talking about it for weeks. All of our friends crammed into a tiny hipster bar in the new trendy section of town. Lovely. I gave her a half-hearted smile as I grabbed my cell off the desk and jetted off to interview Mr. McConnell.

I love Amy dearly, so I do pretty much whatever she wants me to…even if that means suffering through a party. Besides, she’s the only person in the world who knows my secret.

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

